Board of Commissioners

The WMUA is governed by a four-person Board of Commissioners (two each appointed by the Townships of Marlboro and Manalapan). Collectively, the Board Serves as the Governing Body of (and exercises fiduciary responsibility for) the Authority. They hire and supervise a full-time Executive Director who executes the policies of the Board and Administers day to day operations fo the Authority. 

In 1972, the Townships of Marlboro and Manpalan, as required by the newly adopted Clear Water Act, formed a new special-purpose government agency to collect, treat, and safely return back to the environment all of the wastewater of the Western Monmouth County region. For nearly half of a century, the Wester Monmouth Utilities Authority has protected the health, safety and welfare of a century, the Western Monmouth Utilities Authority has protected the health, safety, and welfare of our region by ensuring that every drop of wastewater discarded down the drains of our neighbors' homes, offices, schools, shops, stores, and factories is carefully collected, professionally cleaned to the highest standards known to science and returned to the environment from which it was originally taken-clean and safe for the use of man and animal alike.

Ensuring an outstanding environmental quality of life is our primary responsibility and one that our staff of dedicated professionals takes very seriously. We are proud of our efforts on your behalf and we are proud to be recognized by our colleagues around the world for our efforts. We think you will be proud, too.


Board of Commissioners  
Joseph Pernice  Chairman
Glen Mendez  Vice-Chairman
Jeffrey Rosen Secretary
Mary Ann Musich  Treasurer